Stacking the Shelves #9

I have been so terrible with blogging since uni started. Hopefully, this is the first of many getting-back-into-regularly-posted-posts… hopefully.

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by the awesome Tynga’s Reviews- click to find out all about it from the blogger who created it!

image

These are the books and plays I recently purchased for two of my modules: American Fiction 1900-1945: Realisms and Modernisms and A Mad World My Masters. Have to say (thankfully) I am loving all of my modules so far!

List:

The Duchess of Malfi – John Webster (It’s awful in a brutal way but so interesting.)

Sister Carrie – Thomas Dreiser

The Witch of Edmonton- Rowley, Dekker & Ford

The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner

The Changeling- Middleton & Rowley

My Antonia – Willa Cather (review coming soon; LOVED IT.)

The Sun Also Rises- Ernest Hemingway

The House of Mirth- Edith Wharton

5 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #9

  1. I’ve read ‘The House of Mirth’. I can’t remember much because it wasn’t really that memorable to me. Whilst I enjoyed some parts, I found it very slow moving overall. Although, as I right this review, I start to remember even more positive aspects of the novel. So, maybe I need to reread it at some point.

  2. I’ve read and am studying The Duchess of Malfi this year. I agree it’s a really interesting read, but even more interesting to study.

    What did you think of the Duchess’ brothers? I think they’re the Cardinal and Ferdinand (correct me if I’m wrong). I thought they were completely nuts lol

    • Same, I’m writing an essay for this and another text called The Witch of Edmonton about witchcraft representations in Jacobean drama. It’s so cool! Both plays were based on true stories though which is so sad given both female protagonists are bloody killed by insecure men. -_-

      The brothers were so insane! I hated them both, Ferdinand more than Cardinal (dw, you weren’t wrong!). The sadistic side of Ferdinand made my skin crawl. His whole incestuous thing for the Duchess was gross.
      It’s so interesting how a powerful woman could destabilise ideas of masculinity like that though.

      • “witchcraft representations in Jacobean drama”

        SO. DAMN. JEALOUS.

        That essay sounds like a dream come true for my inner witchcraft/fantasy obsessed teenage self!

        Here I am writing essays about sensibility and femininity in Jane Austen *rolls eyes*

Leave a Reply

